Big changes in the state minimum wage were recently signed into law in Oregon. The bill, signed by the governor, created a
three-tiered minimum wage system in the state (S.B. 1532). The law created:
- A base wage that will increase to $9.75 an hour, effective July 1, 2016;
- A higher minimum wage for “the urban growth boundary of a metropolitan service district” (i.e., the Portland metropolitan area) that will also increase to $9.75 an hour, effective July 1, 2016; and
- A lower minimum wage for “non-urban counties” or rural areas, identified as the following 18 counties: Baker, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, and Wheeler. This rate will increase to $9.50 an hour, effective July 1, 2016.
In Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin signed paid sick leave (PSL) legislation
making Vermont the sixth state to require it, along with California, Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Massachusetts, and Oregon. The paid sick leave requirements will begin to take effect January 1, 2017, and will include the following:
- Employers will be required to provide one hour of PSL for every 52 hours worked up to 24 hours in a 12-month period (from January 1, 2017 until December 31, 2018). The required amount will increase to 40 hours in a 12-month period, effective January 1, 2019.
Check back with Pay News Now as we continue to monitor changes in minimum wage and paid sick leave legislation around the country.